Last year I was a little more organized when it came to my holiday shopping. It helped that I worked at a retail store and I would pick up a few things here and there. The closer it got to Christmas the less I had to buy…boy did that feel good!! It was the first year that I wasn’t stressed out and I was really looking forward to Christmas getting here!! From then on I vowed to start my shopping early every year!

A year later….

I started my Christmas shopping this week. I know…I know…What about starting early?!

Fortunately, we do not have a huge blow out Christmas at our house and I like it that way. I’m sure as the boys get older it’ll get crazier. It just seems like the older kids get the more expensive their taste is. My step daughter is 12 and I’m learning this from experience. 😉 Luckily the boys are 3 and 4….they are happy with just about anything! Toys! Wii games! Art stuff! You name it they like it.

For the first time ever, I am doing my shopping online. Sure….It’s nothing new. I don’t know why I never did it before! I guess I figured once you pay shipping costs you were just paying too much. I have realized that’s a lie. So far all together I’ve paid less than $10 in shipping. I bet I would have spent more in gas just driving store to store than that.

I have never ordered anything from Etsy before. I always love looking at the stuff on there…but never purchased anything. Until this week! Yep…that’s right…I ordered 3 things off Etsy. (Yes I really am this lame.) I can’t wait to get them in and check everything out! Getting presents in the mail is so much better than bills!

Needless to say…I started my shopping this week and I’m happy to announce I am just about finished!!! Even though I started later than I planned and usually I would be freaking out…I decided why stress? Holidays are supposed to be fun! I tried something new and it worked! Shopping online is the best!!

That isn’t the only new thing we’re doing this year. This will be the first year that we will wake up Christmas morning in Eureka Springs. We went back to Oklahoma last year. In 29 years this will be the first Christmas I haven’t been with my Mom and Granny. It is a little sad, but I am excited to start our own tradition. Change is good right?

We will make our way to Oklahoma in January and exchange gifts with the rest of the family. Plus, we are going to a Oklahoma City Thunder basketball game while we are there. I am so excited!! Go Okc Thunder! 🙂

Okay…I’m going to wrap this thing up.

While we were in Oklahoma for Thanksgiving my friend Erica Gibson took some pictures for us. They turned out great!! I had to share at least one!  When I have more time I will post a few others!! It’s 6:20 am and I need some sleep. ( I told you I stayed up way to late! )

Thanks for reading!!

photo-1

You can check out Ericas pictures here.

http://www.blogericagibsonphoto.com

