Running. What can I say….We started Couch to 5k last week. We finished one day and…(silence)  Things just came up! Weather was bad, blah blah blah.

Well…I’m happy to say we started back this week! Monday was our first day back and it went really well. If you’ve never used the app before, let me just fill you in on a few details.

Couch to 5k is an app on the iPhone. (I’m sure you can probably get it on other devices…I’m just not aware of all of them.) It’s a 9 week program that slowly builds you up and teaches you to run long distances. I will admit I can barely jog one full lap around a track. I’ve never been a runner. I’ve never enjoyed it. I’ve seen plenty of people who jog and have always admired them. The first week we will jog every other day. You start with a brisk 5 minute walk and then comes the fun part…running. You will run for 1 minute. Sounds easy right? Well…the first one is. It’s a total breeze. After your 1 minute, you walk for a minute and a half. You will repeat this as you run a total of 8 times and finish with a cool down 5 minute walk.

I was tired. There were plenty of times I wished Jeremy would say “Okay…I’m done for today. Let’s just quit.” He never did. I kept telling myself “You can do this. Just keep going. You’re not going to die!” I’m happy to announce…We did it!! We did the entire thing today and by the end of it I was still alive and breathing. Not to mention I actually felt great!! I felt accomplished. I really did it. It may not be much for some, but it’s huge for me. It’s a little baby step to what is to come and I am excited to see what I can complete in the 9 weeks.

Again…It helps that Jeremy and I are doing this together. He is a great partner and motivator.

I am grateful that tomorrow is our rest day, but looking forward to another great day Friday.

See you tomorrow!

Steph Shock

