Hey friends! (It’s okay to call you that, right?) I had a pretty great day today. Nothing super exciting happened, but you know those days you just feel great? Well…that was me today.

I am not a morning person and I had to wake up early. If I wake up on my own at 7 a.m. that’s fine, but I hate waking up to an alarm. (I don’t care what time it is. I hate it.) Anyway…I woke up early and did my morning routine. Surprisingly feeling great. I had to be at work by 9, so I hit the road by 8:30. (I work part-time for my family’s business 2-3 days a week.) I could tell my step-mom was not in a great mood as I arrived and that worried me. Normally she is all smiles. She was outside as I pulled up and I could already sense her distress. As soon as I got out of the car I said “Good morning sunshine!” She gave me a half-smile and we walked in. 

I stayed positive and we had our normal morning chit-chat. I know she’s been stressed lately. It happens to the best of us. We are really good at keeping each other on the right track. We support each other on our weight loss journeys and positive mindsets. If we need to rant…we let it all out…we get it out of our systems and we move on. It works well for us. I knew I’d eventually get a smile back on her face by the end of the day! 

Here comes the boring part…we worked. And we worked. We were actually really productive today! Yay us!! I could tell the longer the day went on, the better she was starting to feel. She was starting to talk more, smiling, and being her regular self. (It might have helped that she got good news at lunch, but I like to imagine it was all me!) We have a lot of fun together. Even though we are ‘working’ it doesn’t seem like work. It seems like a productive day with my friend. A great friend at that. 

Once my work day was over, I headed home to see the family. My mother in law took us out to dinner tonight. My hubbys brother is in town, so we all had dinner together. We had mexican…my fav! Afterwards, I swung by my grannies and chatted with her for a bit. She didn’t have her hearing aids in, so she was loud as ever tonight! 

So…see what I mean? I didn’t do anything super awesome today, but overall it was great! I had a great attitude for most of it! I mean sure…I can think of a few times I gave my husband the evil eye, but that’s to be expected right? 😉 

I like days like today. Normal days. Where everything just seems to fall in place. 

It’s nice to stop and smell the roses sometimes. Even on the days you’d least expect it.

I’m grateful for my family today. 

I’m also grateful that tomorrow is FRIDAY!! 

Screen Shot 2013-09-25 at 12.32.41 AM

