Jeremy and I have been together since 2002. 11 years is a long time for a relationship these days. I’m proud of our relationship. We’ve been through a lot and we’ve come through it together and stronger than ever.

When I met Jeremy I was a young 19 years old. I was an adult and I knew everything. I was fresh out of high school, working my first ‘real’ job and wasn’t looking for a relationship at the time. I remember seeing him at a quarterly luncheon. They called his name for a perfect attendance award and everyone was clapping and cheering. I didn’t know his name, so I was looking around to see who everyone was cheering for. Here comes Jeremy break dancing down the middle of the tables. I couldn’t help but smile. I knew we’d be friends. He always had a smile on his face and you could tell he was a fun-loving person. Little did I know, we’d be married 4 years later.

After that luncheon, I didn’t see Jeremy for a while. He’d pass by every now and then, but we didn’t know each other. One day as I was heading to break, a friend walked up and started talking about some guy. He was going to have this guy come talk to me. Huh?! Wait a minute….who? Yep, you guessed it….Jeremy! I was so embarrassed. What would I say? When would this happen? All these things were going through my head and I was nervous. Why was he coming to talk to me?!

A few days passed and Jeremy still hadn’t come. I thought maybe he’d forgotten or just decided not to come see me. I was kinda relieved to be honest. I went on about my business doing my crappy job and I see him in the corner of my eye cross by. I was nervous. Was he coming to see me? I turned, filling out my papers and I hear a voice say something. I turned back around and there he is. I’d never been face to face with him. He introduced himself and I told him my name. You wanna know the first thing he asked me? “Do you play any instruments?” What!? Do I play any instruments?! What an odd thing to ask me! We still laugh about that all the time. I imagine he must have been so nervous. We had small talk and he asked for my number.

To be continued…

Screen Shot 2013-09-25 at 12.32.41 AM

