What a day! I feel like since I’ve changed my attitude things are so much better. Who would have thought?

I’m not perfect, although I like to make people think that. My kids drive me nuts most days. You know what has helped me with that? I’ve excepted them for who they are. Kids are kids. Bonus and Atticus are so different. Atticus is calm, quiet (most of the time), and likes to cuddle. Bonus is my little wild man. He is running non stop, loud, and full of life 24/7. It’s hard for me to get Bonus to calm down. Why does he have so much energy? It was a constant battle between him and me all day, until my husband said to me “That’s just how Bonus is. We have to accept him for that. We shouldn’t try to change him.” Why did it take him saying that for me to figure it out? #1 mom here shouldn’t need someone to tell her that. I’ve realized lately I’ve been a little on edge. I can’t snap at the kids because they’re having fun. Maybe they’re being to loud. I’ve realized the kids don’t know why I’m upset if I don’t explain why I need them to be quieter. If I freak out on them they think they’re in trouble for simply having fun! How wrong is that?

Not only has it helped them, it’s helped my attitude tremendously. Thanks to my husband I’ve been able to step back and take a look at myself. I feel less tense. The kids listen better. Overall there’s a better vibe in the house.

Today I took the kids over to play with their friend Foster. Here’s a picture of all three boys. It’s hard to get them to look at the camera at the same time.

photo-2

The boys had a great time playing with Foster. I think we are taking them to the zoo next week since the weather has been so nice! They will love that. After we left Foster’s house, we had dinner with Pam (mom in law) and headed home. We had a great day today. I love my boys.

Just know if your kids drive you nuts…you’re not the only mom that feels that way. Just take a deep breath and accept it. We’re not perfect and neither are they. No matter what is going wrong, it could always be worse. Being a parent is tough, but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Screen Shot 2013-09-25 at 12.32.41 AM

